Italy Covid-19 Travel Information

Summary of Italy Coronavirus Situation

Last Updated:

10 December, 2020
Between 21 December 2020 and 6 January 2021, those travelling to Italy must self-isolate for 14 days. Since 18 October 2020, travellers returning to the UK from Italy need to quarantine for 14 days. A negative Covid-19 test result taken 72 hours prior to travel, is required when arriving in Italy from the UK. Alternatively, a free test can be taken at the Italian airport. If a positive test is received, travellers will need to quarantine for 10-21 days or until one negative test result has been received. All travellers must download and complete a self-declaration form from the Ministry of Interior before they travel to Italy, and carry it with them. Travel restrictions on the Italian islands may differ from mainland Italy. Tourism is permitted for visitors travelling from Member States of the European Union, Schengen Area, the UK and Northern Ireland, and other low-risk countries as well as some third party countries. All travellers must complete a self declaration form prior to travelling to Italy.
Italy Travel Restrictions for UK Travellers

Border Status: *

Border Opening Date:
3 June, 2020

Quarantine in Force: **

Quarantine Duration (Days):

Quarantine In Force Until:


Travel Permitted for UK Nationals?:


* Although borders may technically be open for essential travel, for medical reasons, or travel from other countries, we list border status as “closed” until leisure travel restrictions are lifted for UK travellers.

** Quarantine in force refers to the quarantine status at the destination and not in the United Kingdom.

Additional Information

Countries Travel Permitted From:

Member States of the European Union (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the Czech Republic); States party to the Schengen Agreement (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland); United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland; Andorra, Principality of Monaco; Republic of San Marino and Vatican City State, Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Republic of Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay

Face Masks Usage:


Public Gathering Limit:


Health Certificate Required:


Latest Articles

Travel Planning

Disclaimer: The content of this website is provided for information purposes only. Every effort is made to ensure the site is up to date and accurate, no legal liability or other responsibility is accepted by Travelbounce for any errors, omissions, or statements on this site, or any site to which these pages connect.


Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay up to date on all the latest Covid-19 related travel restrictions, updates and travel stories. Sign up now.


What's Reopening?

Borders, Quarantine & Entry Requirements

Flight Schedules Changes