Travel bans: Which countries make up Belgium’s new Covid-19 ‘red zones’?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

As countries across Europe begin to see a resurgence of coronavirus infections, Rishi Sunak has warned holidaymakers of the risk of travelling abroad during the crisis amid concerns France may be the next country to be added to the UK’s quarantine list.

Mr Sunak’s warning comes as Belgium bans tourism to several parts of France, Spain and Switzerland, as well as one UK city – and the country’s “red zone” list is growing.

Which countries are in the ‘red zone’ list?

Bulgaria: regions of Severoiztochen, Yugozapaden

Croatia: province of Vukovar-Srijem


France: department of Mayenne


Romania: regions of Centre, South-East, South-Muntenia and Sud-Vest Oltenia

Spain: Autonomous region of Aragón; autonomous region of Navarra; province of Barcelona and province of Lleida (autonomous region of Catalonia)

Switzerland: canton of Genève

United Kingdom: Leicester

Belgium has also expanded its list of “orange zone”–places where visitors are encouraged be extra cautious. Last week Northern Ireland, Wales and four northern regions of England were orange listed.

Which countries and cities are ‘orange zone’ listed?

Austria (provinces of Upper Austria, Vienna)
Bulgaria (regions of Severen tsentralen, Yugoiztochen, Yuzhen tsentralen)
Croatia (provinces of Osijek-Baranja, Šibenik-Knin, Split-Dalmatia, Istria and Zagreb)
Czech Republic (Central Bohemian Region, region of Jihovýchod, Moravian-Silesian Region, region of Prague)
France (Region Île de France, département du Nord, departments of Meurthe-et-Moselle and the Vosges, department Sarthe, department Ile-et-Vilaine, department Gard, department Haute-Garonne, departments Loire and Haute-Savoie, departments Alpes-Maritimes and Bouches-du-Rhône)
(provinces of South Holland, Zeeland and North Holland)
Poland (provinces of Silesia, Lesser Poland)
Portugal (region of Algarve, Lisbon metropolitan area)
Romania (regions Vest, București-Ilfov, Nord Est, Nord Vest)
Slovenia (region of Eastern Slovenia)
Spain (Autonomous region of  Madrid; province Girona and province Tarragona (autonomous region of  Catalonia); autonomous region of  the Basque country; autonomous region of La Rioja; province Soria (autonomous region of Castilla y Leon); province Guadalajara (autonomous region of Castilla-La Mancha); province Castellón and province Valencia (autonomous region of  Valencia); autonomous region of  Murcia; province Almeria (autonomous region of  Andalusia); Balearic Islands)
Sweden, Switzerland (cantons of Grisons, Zug and Schaffhausen)
United Kingdom (East Midlands, North East & Yorkshire, North West and Northern Ireland, Wales)

How will the restrictions affect travellers?

The new restrictions mean that all non-essential travel to “red zone” areas is forbidden. Anyone returning or arriving from red list areas, must be tested for Covid-19 and go into quarantine, according to the Belgian government.

Why has Belgium increased restrictions?

As much of Europe starts to experience

Continue reading...

This post was originally published on this site

Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay up to date on all the latest Covid-19 related travel restrictions, updates and travel stories. Sign up now.

Related Posts

Discussion about this post


Latest Articles

Travel Planning

Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay up to date on all the latest Covid-19 related travel restrictions, updates and travel stories. Sign up now.